Two Books That Made Me Glad I Love to Read

I recently read two books that made me so happy to be a reader

The first book is a Young Adult fiction title called Eleanor & Park by Rainbow Rowell. Set in the 1980’s, this wonderful love story about two teenagers was simply fantastic. Eleanor comes from a family that defines dysfunction and Park comes from a typical family. When they meet on the bus, they don’t talk to each other. Eleanor is the new girl and Park doesn’t want to ruin his slim social standing by speaking to her. They slowly bond over graphic novels and music. Their budding romance is one of the best I ever read. The only thing I didn’t like about the book was the ambiguous ending. I don’t like having to figure out how a book ends. I want to be told dammit!

The second book is the memoir by Jenny Lawson (aka The Bloggess) titled Let’s Pretend this Never Happened. Her life story so far is filled with dark humour that had me laughing out loud during certain parts (Beyonce the chicken is one of my favorite stories). She also talks honestly about her anxiety disorder. She is one of the few people that make me not only want to be OK with my mental health issues, but fully embrace them.

I highly recommend reading both these books.

Leave a Reply

