Jellyfish Jamboree Storytime

I decided to tweak this blog and make it more about programs I am running at my library and books I am reading.

 

Today I ran a program called Jellyfish Jamboree for Grades K-2

 

First book: Jellyfish by Lola Schaefer

Flannel: Jellyfish Colors

I printed different colored jellyfish and sang this tune:

 

Sung to the Tune of My Bonnie Lies Over the Ocean

This jellyfish lies in the ocean

This jellyfish lies in the ocean

This jellyfish lies in the ocean

Oh, (color of jellyfish), swim by me

 

The kids weren’t up for getting up, so we sang to Raffi’s “Wheels on the Bus.”

 

Book: Peanut Butter and Jellyfish by Jarret Krosoczka

 

Once the stories were done, we went to our craft.

 

I set up foam bowls, tissue paper, and crepe paper. The children covered the outside of the bowl with tissue paper using modge podge. After, we ripped long strips of crepe paper and glued them on the inside of the bowl to create the tentacles.

 

Displaying 20140709_143906.jpg

Leave a Reply

