DIY Snow Globes

It’s Weather week for Fizz Boom Read, so all programs this week are about different kinds of weather.

 

For the 3rd-5th graders, I decided to make DIY Snow Globes with them.

I found the idea on this post:

http://www.hometrainingtools.com/a/diy-snow-globe-and-liquid-density

What You Need:

  • Small glass jar with tight fitting lid (I asked my staff to bring in empty glass jars to use for this)
  • Hot glue gun (according to the site, waterproof super glue can work as well)
  • Water
  •  Corn syrup
  • Glitter
  • Small plastic trees, animals, houses, or other decorations (I found little trophies in the favors section at the dollar store)
  • Adult supervision

What You Do:

  1. I super glued the trophies to the lids of each jar.
  2. The children  filled their about 3/4 full of water (or about 1/2 if using corn syrup).
  3. Put a few pinches of glitter in the jar. (NOTE: don’t put out a lot of glitter. My kids overdid it on the glitter big time. It was hard to see the trophies through the glitter. I used gold glitter, but in retrospect, silver may have been better).
  4. Now add several drops of corn syrup,  making sure you leave room for air at the top.
  5. Screw the lid on and turn. If needed, add more water to the jar and the glitter can be removed. If the child wants, you can place hot glue on the inside of the lid.

 

As they were filling their jars with water and glitter, I used the websites explanation of density and how it worked.

After steps 1-3, we had to wait a few minutes for the glue to dry. I brought a big pile of scrap paper with me and the children and I had a paper snowball fight. We also gathered the scraps together and made it “snow” on top of us. Lastly, I let them pummel me with the snow balls.

Once this was done, we did a quick snow related word search. As the worked on it, I gave them a brief history of the snow globe that I adapted for here:

http://www.magicalsnowglobechristmas.com/HISTORY-OF-A-SNOWGLOBE.html

 

We then did step 5.

Here are some pictures of the results:

 

Displaying 20140715_143648.jpg

 

 

Displaying 20140715_144436.jpg

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

