DIY Musical Instruments

This week’s theme is Sound, Light, & Color.

My first program of the week was making musical instruments for grades 3-5

First up was a harmonica made from craft sticks, paper, and rubber bands. I found it on this link:

 

DIY Harmonica

Here’s a finished product:

20140721_151629

Next up was a megaphone made out of construction paper and toilet paper tubes.

Megaphone

I found my instructions in a book, but those would work as well. We added the toilet paper tube at the bottom for extra volume.

20140721_152704

 

 

Then we made a straw flute. I didn’t use the pliers, so it didn’t play as well for the kids. I don’t have a picture of one, but here are the instructions.

Straw Flute

Last, but not least, we made a pan pipe flute. I found the instructions for this in the SRP Manual.

20140721_155508

The instruments worked on and off, but the kids had a great time making them and trying them out.

Leave a Reply

