Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles

This program had nothing to do with our SRC theme. We added it in to tie into the movie release this week. I started the program by telling the kids about each artist the turtles were named after and showed them some of their artwork.

I found our first activity on TMNT Party.

I bought pie tins and found a clipart picture of a sewer cover and taped them on.

20140806_150814

 

I also took one of our trash cans and created slime using fadeless paper.

20140806_152149

The goal of the game was to throw the “sewer lids” into the container of “ooze.” The kids had a great time playing this.

Next up, I found a fun game on Oriental Trading. It’s pin the pizza in the turtle’s mouth:

20140806_155857

After the games, I taught them some basic “ninja” moves. We learned to punch, cross, hook, uppercut, front kick, back kick, and side kick (I guess all the Kenpo, Tae Bo, and Kickboxing DVDs I do come in handy).

Last but not least: Origami. The goal was to make throwing ninja stars, but they didn’t come out quite right, so I let the children make whatever they wanted. Here’s a pic of two boats with “trash” in them.

20140806_165846

I had five kids come, but they all had a great time celebrating all things Ninja Turtle!

Leave a Reply

