Animal Storytime

I recently began a 8 week storytime called Super Stories/Cool Crafts for ages 3-5.

I picked the themes according to the crafts we had downstairs. My first week, the theme was animals.

I started the program by using a song I learned during Guerilla Storytime at ALA14. It goes like this:

Hello friends

Hello friends

It’s time to say hello

This was done in song and American Sign Language and it will be our opening song each week.

After the song, we went right into another one:

Clap clap clap your hands.

Clap your hands with me.

Clap them fast. Clap them slow.

Clap your hands with me.

Wag your tail like a dog.

Wag wag wag your tail.

Wag your tail with me.

Wag it fast. Wag it slow.

Wag your tail with me.

Thump your chest like a gorilla.

Thump thump thump your chest.

Thump your chest with me.

Thump it fast. Thump it slow.

Thump your chest with me.

Bend your knees like a camel.

Bend bend bend your knees.

Bend your knees with me.

Bend them fast. Bend them slow.

Bend your knees with me.

Wiggle your ears like a hippopotamus.

Wiggle wiggle wiggle your ears.

Wiggle your ears with me.

Wiggle them fast. Wiggle them slow.

Wiggle your ears with me

The kids had a lot of fun doing this. My first book:

Home My Books Friends Recommendations

We had the Big Book version of this, which I love using.

We have a flannel of pictures of various animals. Without showing them the pictures, i would describe the animal and see if the kids figured out what animal it was.

On to more songs. after Shaking Our Sillies, we sang this:

Do you have a pet?

Yes, I have a dog.

I have a pet.

He is a dog.

And he says, “Woof, woof, woof, woof, woof. Woof woof.”

I have a pet.

She is a cat.

And she says, “Meow, meow, meow, meow, meow. Meow meow.”

I have a pet.

He is a mouse.

And he says, “Squeak, squeak, squeak, squeak, squeak. Squeak squeak.”

Woof woof.

Meow meow.

Squeak squeak.

I have a pet.

He is a bird.

And he says, “Tweet, tweet, tweet, tweet, tweet. Tweet tweet.”

I have a pet.

She is a fish.

And she says, “Glub, glub, glub, glub, glub. Glub glub.”

I have a pet.

He is a lion.

And he says, “Roar, roar, roar, roar, roar. Roar roar.”

Tweet tweet.

Glub glub.

ROAR!

We then read one of my favorite books:

We then watched “Is Your Mama a Lllama?”

After the movie, we sat down for our craft. I had dot marker sheets of whales and octupi and the kids love dot markers.

Leave a Reply

