Exploration Stations

My library decided to try doing Sunday programs again and I ran our first one. We called it Exploration Stations.

Station 1. Library Corner: I placed some of our new books and books on dinosaurs, transportation, and magnetism in a corner with mats for the children to sit on.

20140921_145800

Station 2.  Music table and puzzles: I place a few wooden puzzles on the floor right next to our music table. This was a huge hit. The children didn’t stop playing with it for the entire hour.

20140921_145747

 

Station 3.  Dinosaurs: I had a small box of toy dinosaurs for the children to play with

Station 4.  Kitchen: We have three little kitchens and a small shopping cart with utensils and other gadgets.

Station 5. Blocks: I filled a corner with blocks and this is what the children created:

20140921_153512

 

Station 6. Lacing: We had blocks to lace with and pieces for the children to lace through.

20140921_145719

 

Station 7. Magnets: We own magnetic wands. I placed various objects on the table and the children tested to see if they were magnetic or not.

20140921_145715

 

Station 8. Magnifying glasses: We have these great big magnifying glasses. Children were able to look at various objects through them.

 

20140921_145711

 

 

Station 9.  Magnetic gears: we have a flannel board that has a blackboard on the other side. We bought these gears through Lakeshore Learning. The kids loved them.

20140921_145706

 

Station 10. Light table: We used the light table for the first time at this program. I put it on a table, so it wasn’t as popular as I hoped, but I was too nervous to place it on the floor. (I have a picture of a design made, which I will add later).

 

Station 11. Car mat. We have this great car mat and some big cars. One little boy spent the entire hour there.

20140921_145656

 

We had 35 people attend this program and they all seemed to love it!

Leave a Reply

