Firefighters Storytime

Who doesn’t love a Fire Fighter? I knew this would be a fun storytime to do. We talked about what fire fighters do and briefly touched on what we should do in case of a fire.

The first book:

We didn’t have any flannels on fire fighters, so I printed out clip art and used this rhyme (i found the rhyme on this site:sjplyouthservices.pbworks.com/f/Fire+Safety+Storytime.doc)

Four busy firefighters could not retire
Because they might have to put out a fire.
The first one rang a big brass bell.
The second one said, ‘It’s the Grand Hotel!’
The third one said, ‘Down the pole we’ll slide.’
The fourth one said, ‘Get ready to ride.’
The siren said, ‘Get out of the way!’
‘We have to put out a fire today!’
The red fire truck sped on to the fire,
As the big yellow flames grew higher and higher.
Swish went the water from the fire-hose spout
And in no time at all the fire was out.

We did a firefighter version of the popular “Teddy bear, teddy bear” song:

Fireman, fireman, turn around

 Fireman, fireman, touch the ground

 Fireman, fireman, drive the truck

Fireman, fireman, don’t get stuck

 Fireman, fireman hurry to the fire

 Fireman, fireman, spray the water higher

 Fireman, fireman, give a shout

 Fireman, fireman, you put out the fire! Hooray!

The second book:

Our next action song:

This is the way I pull on my boots, pull on my boot, pull on my boots

               This is the way I pull on my boots, I’m a firefighter

               This is the way I drive the truck, drive the truck, drive the truck,

               This is the way I drive the truck, I’m a firefighter

               This is the way I fasten the hose, fasten the hose, fasten the hose,

               This is the way I fasten the hose, I’m a firefighter

               This is the way I squirt the water, squirt the water, squirt the water,

               This is the way I squirt the water, I’m a firefighter

              This is the way I climb the ladder, climb the ladder, climb the ladder,

              This is the way I climb the ladder, I’m a firefighter

We watched an episode from the “Fireman Sam” show before doing our craft.

The craft was from Oriental Trading and really cute.

Leave a Reply

