Monkey Storytime

This week was all about monkeys!

I started with my favorite big book:

This such a fun fun book to read. The kids love it. Of course, there’s always a counting flannel. This one was called Five Silly Monkeys.

I found my first action rhyme on http://storytimekatie.com/2011/12/28/monkeys/

Monkey see, monkey do
Little monkey in the zoo
Monkey, monkey, in the tree
Can you jump around like me?
(swing tail, clap hands, nod head, sit down)

Our next book:

I did a flannel version of the book Tan Tan’s Suspenders. When I began planning, I didn’t keep great track of where I found my action rhymes. I found this one, but I don’t know where. Sorry about that.

One little monkey, cute as can be,
(While standing, scratch your head with one hand and your side with the other.)

Swinging on vines in the jungle trees,
(Pretend to hold a vine and sway back and forth.)

Grabbing sweet bananas from the tippy top …
(Reach one arm up, then the other arm, like you are grabbing bananas.)

Hold on, Monkey—KERPLOP!
(Sit on the ground.)

One little monkey, cute as can be,
(While sitting, scratch your head with one hand and your side with the other.)

Eating sweet bananas under jungle trees.
(Pretend to peel and eat a banana.)

Sleepy little monkey, ready to flop …
(Pretend to yawn.)

Hold on, Monkey—KERPLOP!
(Lie down on your side and close your eyes.)

Even though he’s technically not a monkey, I showed the fun movie “Goodnight Gorilla.”

This week’s craft was definitely the most involved one I did throughout the sessions, but it was so cute. As usual, it was from Oriental Trading.

Leave a Reply

