Five Senses Storytime

My supervisor asked me to start incorporating the curriculum from Eat Play Grow into some programs. For the first one, I created a Five Senses storytime.

I began by asking them what the five senses were and some of their favorite smells, colors, foods, and sounds. After, we started with the warm up song from the curriculum:

Marching Movement Song
We’re marching, marching, marching
We’re marching in a circle
We’re marching, marching, marching until it’s time to stop!
We’re jumping, jumping, jumping
We’re jumping in a circle,
We’re jumping, jumping, jumping until it’s time to stop!
(add hopping, stomping, running, tiptoeing, etc.)

Our first book:

We did a version of the hokey pokey, but used colors instead. If they were wearing a color, they danced around. I basically had them do it for every color anyway.

I did a shortened version of the Five Senses song that I found on the Preschool Education site

The Five Senses Song (Sung to: “Old Mac Donald Had a Farm”)

On my face I have two eyes;

Use them every day.

They are used to help me see

When I work and play.

With a look, look here,

And a look, look there,

Here a look, there a look,

Everywhere a look, look.

On my face I have two eyes;

Use them every day!

On my face I have a nose;

Use it all the time.

When I sniff it I can tell

Vinegar from lime.

With a sniff, sniff here,

And a sniff, sniff there,

Here a sniff, there a sniff,

Everywhere a sniff, sniff.

On my face I have a nose;

Use it all the time!

In my mouth I have a tongue;

Use it when I eat.

Tasting with it I can tell

Sour from the sweet.

With a lick, lick here,

And a lick, lick there,

Everywhere a lick, lick.

In my mouth I have a tongue;

Use it when I eat!

The next book:

The flannel was all about different animals and how they ate called Crunch Munch.

The last song was found on the Pierce County Library’s site:

The Parts of the Body
If a bird you want to hear,
You have to listen with your _____.
If you want to dig in the sand,
Hold the shovel in your _____.
To see an airplane as it flies,
You must open up your ____.
To smell a violet or a rose,
You sniff the fragrance through your _____.
When you walk across the street,
You use two things you call your _____.
East and west and north and south,
To eat or talk you use your______.

Leave a Reply

