Storytime 2.0 (iPad Storytime)

My library has an newer iPad and an internet projector, so I was able to hook up the iPad and show the stories on the wall for the kids.

All the apps I found for this storytime were free.

I chose the “Read it Mysef” option for all the apps. We began with this adorable story:

 

I found a wonderful song called Five Little Musical Monkeys via the Whynoceros? app. It’s the traditional song, but you can listen to a Bluegrass, Reggae, Pop, and Country version. We did the Pop version, but I played brief parts of the others to show the kids.

Our second story:

This had some fun interactive parts. The end of the book is a pinball game, so I skipped that.

Using the Mother Goose on the Loose app, we sung “The Itsy Bitsy Spider.”

Our last story:

Lastly, I did an action rhyme using the Feltz Lite App. I created five different cars on the app and did this song which I found on the King County Library System site.

Five speedy race cars around the track they zoom.

One stops for gas, while the others go vrooom.

Four speedy race cars around the track they zoom.

One stops for a sandwich, while the others go vrooom.

Three speedy race cars around the track they zoom.

Another stops to say hi to Mom, while the others go vrooom.

Two speedy race cars around the track they zoom.

One stops to change a tire, while others go vrooom.

The last speedy race car, around the track it zooms.

It gets bored, so no one goes vroom!

It was very interesting telling stories via this medium and I hope to do it again soon.

 

Leave a Reply

