Bug Storytime

It’s always fun to do a bug storytime. I began by talking about the different types of bugs thee are. I had some stuffed animal bugs to show them as well.

We started with a fun book:

My flannel wasn’t a traditional story. I printed a few images of different bugs and described them to see if the children could guess which bug I was talking about. This is always a fun one to do and I plan on adding more bugs to it.

I found the action rhyme on the site Musical Experiences for Children

Roly-poly caterpillar

Roly-poly caterpillar

(wiggle right pointer finger)

Into a corner crept,

(crawl finger up yor arm into your elbow nook)

Spun around himself a blanket

(spin your body around)

Then for a long time slept.

(go into a ball and place head on folded hands)

Roly-poly caterpillar

(hold out and wiggle right pointer finger)

Wakening by and by,

(wake up and stretch)

Found himself with beautiful wings

Changed to a butterfly.

(flutter arms like wings)

Of course, we had to do both Itsy Bitsy Spider and Ants Go Marching as our songs.

I love Ed Emberley, so this was a great book to use:

My flannel was Going on a Bug Hunt, which was very cute. We ended by watching “The Very Hungry Caterpillar” movie before doing our craft.

We love Oriental Trading for our crafts and this was the perfect one for this program:

I made sure to emphasize that the children were to catch the bugs and only look at them for a minute or two before letting them go.

Leave a Reply

