Full STEAM Ahead Program

This program will be held in parts in March, April, and May. In March, I will be tackling the Science and Technology part of STEAM. This class was created for children in grades 3-5.

I had three stations set up for the science program. In retrospect, I should have added more because we went through the experiments so quickly.

First up was candy experiments. I had three different ones that are easily found on the internet.

  1. We dissolved Skittles in water and watched the S float off the candy. This was actually really cool. The kids loved seeing the color melt off and the S float away.
  2. We soaked gummy worms in water to see how much they would expand. I got mine at the dollar store, so they didn’t expand too much. I’m wondering if pricier one would have.
  3. We put sour patch kids in water and then added baking soda to watch them fizz.

I definitely bought extra candy for the kids to eat.

We then attempted to make invisible ink with lemon juice. Unfortunately, I didn’t have a really good lamp on me, so the lemon juice didn’t burn through. The kids still had a fun time painting the juice on the paper. We did see some because we rubbed some salt in the lemon juice.

Lastly, we made rainbow paper. I found the instructions on how to do this on Science Kiddo. I bought a big aluminum tray from the dollar store and filled it partway with water. You then only need to add a few drops of clear nail polish for each piece of black paper you dip in. The nail polish adheres to the paper making really interesting looking paper once it’s dried.

 

Leave a Reply

