Full STEAM Ahead: Math

This last part of my five part program was the hardest to plan. I think I changed it at least three times as I was creating.

I saw a great idea for learning about lace value on Differentiation Station Creations and adapted it for the older kids. I created signs with different place values and had a bowl placed next to them. The goal was to toss a bean bag into each of the bowls. We began to create challenges with this game: how far can they throw backwards, with their eyes closed, and from really far away. Of course, there was some general bean bag tossing at each other.

 

20160513_162116

 

Next to that, on the floor, I had numbers placed on the floor. Using a catapult from the previous program, the children had to catapult a pom-pom to a specific number.

20160513_162125

 

To teach the basics of shapes & geometry, I had them put together a Tangram. In restrospect, I would have chosen a more difficult one as the kids flew through it.

 

20160513_161939

 

Lastly, we learned about grouping and remainders using Legos. Each child started with 30 Legos (I used Duplos for this one, much to their dismay. I would definitely use Legos next time). They made groups of four and then saw how many Legos were left over. I planned to do this with other groups, but they mainly wanted to play with the Legos. I adapted this from a post i saw on Frugal Fun 4 Boys

They all went home with two extreme dot to dot puzzles which can be found doing a Google search.

 

Leave a Reply

