You are the Placebo Review

 

Summary:

Is it possible to heal by thought alone—without drugs or surgery? The truth is that it happens more often than you might expect. The book shares numerous documented cases of those who reversed cancer, heart disease, depression, crippling arthritis, and even the tremors of Parkinson’s disease by believing in a placebo. Similarly, Dr. Joe tells of how others have gotten sick and even died the victims of a hex or voodoo curse—or after being misdiagnosed with a fatal illness. Belief can be so strong that pharmaceutical companies use double- and triple-blind randomized studies to try to exclude the power of the mind over the body when evaluating new drugs.

 

Review:

I have mixed thoughts on this book. It’s a very technically dense book, so it took me two months to get through. The author goes into deep detail explaining the brain and how it works, which was interesting but had me reaching for a dictionary at times with the terminology he uses. The book is over 300 pages and the main premise is: meditate and all will be well. I am all for meditation, but I don’t think he needed to go into such details about other factors.

 

I like the thought process of this book: how you think & feel about your body makes a difference. All of us feel one way or another about our health and recognizing the negative thoughts can be hard to do as they seem so normal. For example, I have arthritis in my knee. I always call it my “bad” knee. After reading the book, I am going to try to think differently about my knee and see how it changes my attitude on it.

 

On the other hand, I personally would not stop taking any medications or try to cure myself of a disease by thought alone. I don’t know if it’s the skeptic in me or the part that firmly believes in a combination of western and eastern medicine, but I feel there are things that needed to be treated with surgery and medications. The personal stories and research studies told in the book were fascinating and interesting though. I do plan to try to have a more healing mind process than diagnostic one for my own mental well begin. I also want to learn meditation in the near future, but I am not sure I am open minded enough to think it can cure me of any of my conditions.

Leave a Reply

